Photo Gallery

wordpress plugin

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

NYTimes Photo Submission Opportunity -- A Moment In Time

Here is an interesting email I received about this photo project.


On behalf of the New York Times photography blog Lens, I would like to invite you to join us in a project called A Moment in Time. Thousands of photographers of all experience levels will be capturing the same moment on Sunday, May 2nd at 15:00 U.T.C. That's 8 a.m. in Los Angeles, 11 a.m. in New York City and Santo Domingo, 4 p.m. in Algiers and London, 7 p.m. in Moscow and 11 p.m. in Beijing.

This is the first step in trying to connect photographers around the world. While anyone is welcome to participate, we are particularly hoping to see submissions from students and professors of photography.

We are asking participants to think about where they want to be and what they will focus on. Consider how to represent yourself, and your community, with one image.

To help stimulate ideas and to act as guides, we are suggesting the following categories for images:

· Community
· Play
· Work
· Family
· Relationships
· Nature/Environment
· Religion
· Arts and Entertainment
· Money and the Economy
· Social Issues


Photos should be no larger than 5 MB, ideally 1000 pixels wide or more. In keeping with photojournalistic standards, please keep Photoshopping to a minimum.

After you take your photos, submit your best image as soon as possible to http://submit.nytimes.com/moment. The link will go live that morning, directing you to a Web form. You will be asked to categorize your photos by location and subject, and to include a caption that helps tell the story.

Photos will quickly appear on the Lens Blog and The New York Times Web site. Your photo will be displayed in our A Moment in Time display, and may also be spotlighted in a Lens post. Please feel free to contact me with any comments or suggestions.

Check the Lens Blog for more information about A Moment in Time. You can also find us on Facebook or Twitter (@nytimesphoto) for updates. To join our official Facebook event invite, click here.

A Moment in Time is open to everyone. The project will be greatly enriched with your help. Please spread the word far and wide.

No comments: